RSS

What’s up, holdup! Round #2

09 Oct

October 8, 2014

That day was a very mind-boggling experience.

It was PX’s birthday that day, and Gavin decided to move his birthday celebration on that day as well, since it was only 2 days away. We were to celebrate their birthdays at Gavin’s family restaurant in Banawe, Quezon City and we were supposed to go there after class. And we did. Some of us went ahead, and some of us stayed behind, giving an excuse that we were to wait for our other friends, while in fact, we stayed behind to get the cake that Kiane already preordered. The one who stayed behind were Kiane, Erwin, Mon, Alan, and yours truly.

After getting the cake, we stood there along España, waiting for a ride to get on. There was this FX that was near that had no people in it. Since there were 5 of us, we decided to get on. There was this voice telling me not to ride it, which I later on found out, upon pondering about what happened, was the Holy Spirit. I had this very eerie feeling. I said to them (non-verbatim), “Guys, wag tayo sumakay jan, mukhang luma, baka pangit yung aircon, mainit yan” The FX was indeed old, and I couldn’t make another excuse for not riding it, so I used the “luma, sira aircon” card. They were already going inside so I had no other choice but to get in as well.

 

LESSON #1: Listen to the voice of the Holy Spirit and FOLLOW it. He indeed helps you everytime. You just have to be conscious of his voice. I was reluctant because I wasn’t sure if it was really him. Asar tuloy ako sa sarili ko. Haha. Ilang weeks na to dinidiscuss sa church eh. But now I know.

John 14:16 AMP
“And I will ask the Father, and He will give you another Comforter (Counselor, Helper, Intercessor, Advocate, Strengthener, and Standby), that He may remain with you forever”

 

We were the first ones to ride the FX. I don’t remember how the FX was filled, but this is how we were seated in the FX

141009_121024

#1 and #2 were the ones who did the holdup. This was already my second time experiencing a holdup. My first time was during our prepation for our General Assembly for JPIA. I was walking along España going to the shed near St. Thomas Square to ride an FX to gp to our blockmate’s place, where we were practicing and making props for the general assembly. It was raining that time, so there were few people around. Some guy went behind my back and pointed something sharp. I wasn’t too fond to know what pointy thing it was, but my best guess would be a knife. He told me to give my phone. I gave my phone, then he fled.

I wasn’t traumatized that time because everything happened in a flash.

This time around, it was different. We are in a moving vehicle, #2 had a knife on his hand, and we wouldn’t be able to do anything since we were in a tight space. I couldn’t do anything. I felt helpless. We were all just students there. They could’ve decided to kill us all right there. I can’t even fathom the thought of one of us having to have our lives ending there. Instantly, I prayed and spoke in tongues, quietly. It was the only thing I could do.

#1 and #2 dropped off at Pegasus. I don’t know if that is a street or a landmark, I wasn’t really familiar with the place. But it was the street a little farther from Araneta, Sto. Domingo church. We hurriedly went to the nearest police station, the one on the sogo street across Fisher Mall, which told us to go to another police station, which was a street before the National Bookstore street. That time, I already told my self that it would be impossible to get the crooks now. They could be on their merry way with my Blackberry Z10, and with other gadgets that they took from us.

Erwin and I decided to go back and go to the birthday celebration. I guess we were on the same page already. Lol. Kiane, Mon, and Alan, along with the driver stayed.

 

LESSON #2: Police stations are just for show. There is no quick response team. No offense to them. Documenting is all that they do.

 

Fast forward.. the celebration was awesome. The food was great. We had chicken, pancit, shrimp, and pizza. Shakey’s pizza is the best. Lol. Kind of expensive but it’s worth the money. (Lakas lang maka-endorse? Di po ko binayaran ng Shakey’s. Hahaha.)

When I got home, I wasn’t really scolded. I just got an earful of tips and guides and what to dos from my parents. My dad even called all the way from out there (I don’t know where He is right now, basta nasa labas siya ng Pilipinas) just to talk to me. Mejo naaway ko pa si mama ng onti pero nevertheless, I love them. I’m not very expressive, but I LOVE BOTH OF THEM VERY VERY MUCH!

To kuya #1 and #2, wherever you are right now, I hope your needs are met. I understand that you might needed the money to provide for yourself and your family.

 

LESSON #3: We are blessed to be a blessing.

2 Corinthians 9:8 NLT
And God will generously provide all you need. Then you will always have everything you need and plenty left over to share with others.

 

Here are the rest of the lessons I learned.

LESSON #4: The enemy strikes when we least expect it. Dapat ready ka for things like these. Warrior kung warrior! Don’t let your faith be shaken.

LESSON #5: Stay together as a group. Masyado kami natuwa sa walang laman na FX kaya naghiwalay kami. Haha. United we stand, divided we fall.

LESSON #6: The Lord protects us from every harm.

Psalm 91:2 AMP
I will say of the Lord, He is my Refuge and my Fortress, my God; on Him I lean and rely, and in Him I [confidently] trust!

Psalm 91:11 AMP
For He will give His angels [especial] charge over you to accompany and defend and preserve you in all your ways [of obedience and service].

 

LESSON #7: Love na love talaga ako ng parents. Sobrang feel ko yung concern nila sakin.❤

 

Happy Happy Birthday Patrick Xavier Bernardo and Gavin Caw! Thank you sa libreng food, busong na busog ako kahapon. Hahaha. God Bless both of you! To my VGmates na nakasama ko sa holdap, super shared lives itu. :))

Don’t worry guys, I’m okay. Tho mejo traumatic, knowing and seeing the goodness and love of God towards me offsets everything that has happened.

 

Deuteronomy 31:8 AMP

It is the Lord Who goes before you; He will [march] with you; He will not fail you or let you go or forsake you; [let there be no cowardice or flinching, but] fear not, neither become broken [in spirit–depressed, dismayed, and unnerved with alarm].

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 9, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
